Is Oscar next? – Billboard

The Oscar-nominated music of Germaine Franco for Encanto won Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film at the third annual SCL Awards, which are presented by the Society of Composers & Lyricists Awards. The awards were presented on Tuesday March 8 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

To explore

See the latest videos, graphics and news

See the latest videos, graphics and news

Franco’s score competed here with three other Oscar-nominated scores – Nicholas Britelit’s Don’t look upby Hans Zimmer duneand Jonny Greenwoodit’s The power of the dog.

Franco, the first woman to score in a Disney animated feature, is in the running to become the first Latina to win the Oscar for Best Original Score.

The fifth Oscar-nominated score, that of Alberto Iglesias Parallel mothers, competed in a different category at the SCL Awards. He competed for Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film, where he lost to Daniel Hart The green knight.

Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell’s title track from no time to die won the SCL Award for Outstanding Original Song for a Drama/Documentary. It is also nominated for an Oscar for Best Original Song. He beat another Oscar nominee, Diane Warren“Somehow You Do” from four good days. The other three Oscar nominees for Best Original Song were not nominated here.

Eilish and Finneas virtually accepted their SCL award. In their video message, they shared that they were honored to be recognized by “some of the great composers and lyricists of our time.”

The awards were handed out approximately five weeks later than originally scheduled. They were originally scheduled to premiere on February 1, but the show was postponed to early January due to the Omicron variant airing. With the postponement, the show lost its original Emmy-winning host. Darren Criss. Aloe Blacc hosted in his place.

Awards were given in seven categories for music in visual media (film, television, streaming, interactive).

Hildur Guđnadóttir and Sam Slater won in the interactive media category for Battlefield 2042. This is Guđnadóttir’s third SCL award since the inaugural ceremony in 2020, where she won awards in the film and television categories for Joker and Chernobyl respectively. She then won an Oscar for Joker.

The Spirit of Collaboration award was given to the Oscar-nominated composer Carter Burwell and Oscar-winning filmmakers Joel Coen and Ethan Coen. This award to composers and filmmakers who have worked together harmoniously is the most distinctive honor of the SCL Awards. Burwell and the Coen brothers collaborated on 17 films including Raising Arizona, The great Lebowski, O brother, where are you?, There is no country for old people, Fargoand Macbeth’s Tragedydirected and adapted by Joel Coen.

The first-ever David Raksin Award for Emerging Talent has been awarded to Stephanie Economou for Jupiter’s Legacy. The award is named after the Oscar-nominated director (Forever Amber, separate tables) died in 2004.

The event included musical performances by the Grammy winner Judith Hill (20 feet from fame) as well as Abigail Barlow and Emily Bear, the Grammy-nominated songwriters Bridgerton: The Unofficial Musical. A musical tribute from the Carter Burwell Ensemble accompanied the Spirit of Collaboration award.

The Society of Composers & Lyricists (SCL) is the leading organization for professional composers and lyricists in film, television, video games and musical theatre. The organization focuses on education and addresses creative, technological, legal and newsworthy issues affecting the music community for visual media. For more information, visit the SCL website or go to

Here is the full list of nominees and winners:

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film:

Nicholas Britel, Don’t look upnetflix

Hans Zimmer, duneWarner Bros.

WINNER: Germaine Franco, EncantoPictures of Walt Disney

Alexandre Desplat, The French DispatchProjector images

Johnny Greenwood, The power of the dognetflix

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film:

Kubilay Uner, American Traitor: The Trial of Axis Sallyvertical entertainment

WINNER: Daniel Hart, The green knightA24

Rachel Portman, JuliaStoryville Films/CNN

Alberto Iglesias, Parallel mothersSony Pictures Classics

Johnny Greenwood, spencerNeon/Subject Studios

Outstanding Original Song for a Musical/Comedy:

WINNER: Nicholas Britell, Ariana Grande, Scott Mescudi, Taura Stinson, “Just Look Up,” Don’t look upnetflix

Jamie Hartman, Jennifer Hudson, Carole King, “Here I Am (Singing to Go Home)”, The respectMGM/United Artists

Amie Doherty, “Intrepid”, untamed spiritAnimation of dreams

Kris Bowers, Siedah Garrett, “Together All The Way”, Dear Whitesnetflix

Lin-Manuel Miranda, “At Home All Summer”, In the heightsWarner Bros.

Outstanding Original Song for a Drama/Documentary

XWINNER: Billie Eilish, Finneas O’Connell, “No Time To Die”, no time to dieMGM/United Artists

XDiane Warren, “Somehow You Make It”, four good daysvertical entertainment

Rufus Wainwright, “Secret Sister”, rebel heartsDiscovery+

Diane Warren, “(Never Gonna) Tame You”, Mustangs: America’s Wild HorsesVirgil Movies

Shawn Carter, Scott Mescudi, Jeymes Samuel, “Guns Go Bang”, The more they fallnetflix

Outstanding Original Music for Television:

Natalie Holt, LokiDisney+

Jung Jae-il, squid gamenetflix

Nicholas Britel, SuccessionHBO

Christopher Beck, Wanda visiondisney

WINNER: Cristabel Tapia de Veer, The White LotusApple

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media:

Austin Wintory, Alien Fireteam Elitecold iron

WINNER: Hildur Guđnadóttir & Sam Slater, Battlefield 2042Digital Illusions CE, Electronic Arts

Germaine Franco, Kung Fu Panda: Land of GeniusUniversal Beijing Resort & Dreamworks Animation

David Raksin Award:

Joy Ngaiw, To blushAppleTV+

Anne-Kathrin Dern, The Claus familynetflix

WINNER: Stephanie Economou, Jupiter’s Legacynetflix

Spirit of Collaboration Award:

Recipients: composer Carter Burwell and filmmakers Joel Coen & Ethan Coen

Comments are closed.